6th Frankfurt Conference on Financial Market Policy: "European Financial Markets – Too Much Variety?"

When:14 December 2018
Where:Room 1.811, Campus Westend, Goethe University Frankfurt

 Download the program (pdf)


About the Conference:

Ever since the First Banking Directive of 1977, efforts for integrating European financial markets have been on the European agenda. Arguably, the Single European Act (1986), freeing cross-border financial movements within the Union, provided the scene for the EMS crisis of 1992, ultimately leading to the common currency. The Great Financial Crisis that started in 2008 and, more specifically, the sovereign debt troubles in the euro area’s periphery (2010-11) forced a banking union on the euro area, which before was deemed simply unfeasible as well as unnecessary. The call for more union in banking and capital markets raises the question whether there is too much variety in the euro area’s financial markets.

The 6th Frankfurt Conference on Financial Market Policy is devoted to an assessment of where we are standing after all the institutional reforms that have been implemented since 2012. It focuses on Europe’s evolving banking landscape, as well as on the pros and cons (or limits) of variety in finance. 

The conference brings together policy makers, academics, and industry representatives. The objective is to foster an instructive debate about policy initiatives proposed, improving the public’s capacity to critically evaluate arguments and make judgements of these initiatives possible. 

Jan Pieter Krahnen & Hans-Helmut Kotz, SAFE Policy Center



Thomas Book (Deutsche Börse AG)

Luis de Guindos (Vice-President, European Central Bank)

Rainer Haselmann (SAFE and Goethe University Frankfurt)

Boštjan Jazbec (Single Resolution Board)

Hans-Helmut Kotz (SAFE and Harvard University)

Jan Pieter Krahnen (SAFE and Goethe University Frankfurt)

Katja Langenbucher (Goethe University Frankfurt)

Sabine Lautenschläger (European Central Bank)

Erkki Liikanen (IFRS Foundation and Helsinki Graduate School of Economics)

Jürgen Schaaf (European Central Bank)

Dorothea Schäfer (German Institute for Economic Research (DIW))

Karl-Peter Schackmann-Fallis (German Savings Banks Association (DSGV))

Rolf Strauch (European Stability Mechanism)

Dirk Schoenmaker (Erasmus University Rotterdam)

Daniela Weber-Rey (HSBC Trinkhaus & Burkhardt AG)

Cornelia Woll (Sciences Po Paris)


>>Summary of the conference