2020 CEBRA Annual Meeting

When:01 September 2020
  - 03 September 2020

Download the schedule and the program


IMPORTANT: The meeting will be held entirely online. Please note that the program is a subject to time-adjustment. We'll post further details as soon as they are available!


The 2020 annual meeting of the Central Bank Research Association (CEBRA) brings together academics and central bankers working on policy-relevant research. It is co-organized with the Centre for Macroeconomics (CFM) at London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), the Bank of England (BoE), and in association with the Leibniz Institute for Financial Research SAFE.


Tuesday, 01 September, LSE Shaw Library (tbc), 15.00-20.30

  • Opening remarks by Minouche Shafik, LSE Director
  • High-level policy panel on Central Bank Digital Currencies, Payments Systems, and the Future of the International Money and Financial System. Introduction: Raphael Auer (CEBRA and BIS). Panelists: Tobias Adrian (IMF), Benoît Cœuré (BIS), Harald Uhlig (University of Chicago). Chair: Izabella Kaminska (Financial Times)
  • High-level panels on International Currencies and the Monetary and Financial System. Panelists: Philip Lane (ECB), Gita Gopinath (IMF), Hélène Rey (LSE), Andrès Velasco (LSE). Chair: Ricardo Reis (LSE)
  • Followed by a reception

Wednesday & Thursday 02-03 September, LSE, 9.00-17.30

  • The main conference takes place at LSE and features 35 contributed sessions and poster sessions on a wide variety of policy-relevant topics
  • The scientific committee is chaired by Charlie Bean (LSE), Michael Kumhof (BoE), and Ricardo Reis (LSE)
  • On the afternoon of Wednesday September 2nd, Ben Broadbent (BoE) will deliver a keynote talk. 

Thursday 03 September, 17.30-19.30, Court Room, Bank of England (identification required).

Closing reception hosted by the Bank of England.


Further information of relevance:

  • Papers submitted to the contributed sessions can also be considered for poster sessions
  • One special poster session on "Inflation: Drivers, Dynamics, and Persistence" will be jointly organized by the Center for Inflation Research, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland and ECB - Directorate General Research. Committee members are Luca Dedola (ECB), Robert Rich (FRB Cleveland) and Raphael Schoenle (FRB Cleveland).
  • The deadline for submissions is Tuesday March 3rd. Authors of accepted papers will be informed by early May. Please address any questions on the submission portal to Daniela Dimitrova. Each member of CEBRA can submit one paper only and each paper can be submitted only once. You can join CEBRA free of charge.
  • Researchers who currently do not have a paper ready for submission are highly encouraged to volunteer as discussant (also via the submission portal).
  • The organizers will not reimburse travel or accommodation expenditures. The registration fee for the meeting is £110. This registration fee is waived for all participants of sponsored sessions (those are  denoted with a “*” in the list). A light standing dinner on September 1st, and sandwich lunches and beverages on September 2 and 3 will be provided. 

Disclaimer: Participation of the list of above-listed co‐sponsoring institutions in this event does not constitute or imply an endorsement, recommendation or favoring endorsement of the views, opinions, products or services of the Central Bank Research Association or any other co‐sponsor or other person or entity by any of the co‐sponsoring institutions. All views expressed during CEBRA's 2020 annual meeting are strictly those of the authors, discussants, and other participants and not those of CEBRA, the co‐sponsoring institutions or any other institutions.