SAFE/CFS/Deutsche Bundesbank Lecture: Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Deputy Prime Minister, Singapore)

When:05 Dezember 2017
, 17:30
 - 19:00
Where:Festsaal, Casino building, Campus Westend

Title: Making Inclusive Growth A Reality

Speaker: Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Social and Economic Policies, Singapore

With welcome remarks by Jens Weidmann (President of the Deutsche Bundesbank)

DPM Tharman will speak on the challenge of inclusive growth, which has been the exception internationally. Technology and globalisation are increasingly seen as threats. Inclusive growth needs fresh strategies, and a new ambition for the state. 

DPM Tharman will take questions from the audience, moderated by Otmar Issing (President of the CFS).

A reception sponsored by the Deutsche Bundesbank will follow the lecture. 

DPM Tharman Shanmugaratnam is Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies in the Singapore Cabinet. 

Tharman chairs the Group of Thirty, an independent global council of leading economic and financial policy-makers, having succeeded Jean-Claude Trichet in January 2017. He also chairs the G20 Eminent Persons Group on Global Financial Governance, which was appointed in April 2017 to recommend reforms to the system of multilateral financial institutions. He earlier led the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC) from 2011 to 2014, the key policy forum of the IMF; he was its first Asian chair.

Tharman has spent his working life in public service, in roles related to education and economic policies. He served as Minister for Finance for eight years and as Minister for Education for five years (2003-2008). He was appointed Deputy Prime Minister in 2011. He is also Chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), Singapore’s central bank and financial regulator.

After his schooling in Singapore, Tharman studied at the London School of Economics and Cambridge University. He later obtained a Masters in Public Administration at Harvard University, where he was named a Lucius N. Littauer Fellow in recognition of outstanding performance.