SAFE Policy Council

The SAFE Policy Council advises the Policy Center in its efforts to build and expand a network of policy makers and political institutions inside and outside of Europe. It contributes to shaping the agenda of the Policy Center by identifying relevant topics and appraises critically the projects of the Policy Center and their implementation.


Prof. Peter Praet, Ph.D. (Chairman)
Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank
John Berrigan
Director for Financial System Surveillance and Crisis Management, DG FISMA of the European Commission
Dr. Josef Ackermann
Chairman of the Board of Directors of Bank of Cyprus
Sven GiegoldMember of the European Parliament, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance
Sylvie GoulardFormer Member of the European Parliament

Dr. Wolf Klinz

Chairman of the Advisory Board of the discussion platform "Financial Future"

Dr. Joachim Nagel
General Manager of KfW Group
Dr. Thomas Schäfer
Minister of Finance, State of Hessen

Dr. Michael Meister

Parliamentary Secretary of State at the German Federal Ministry for Finance

Thomas WieserPresident of the Economic and Financial Committee (EFC) of the EU
From left: J. P. Krahnen, P. Praet, J. Ackermann, J. Berrigan, W. Klinz, J. Nagel, H.-H. Kotz, U. Walz, M. Haliassos